Lynnwood Osprey 2013

PNWPhotos.com a friendly and growing community of photographers with an interest in the Pacific Northwest region. We feature a Photography Discussion Forum and Pacific Northwest Photo Gallery. It's a fun and friendly place to talk with other photographers, ask questions, share you knowledge, view and post photos and more!

Bill Anderson

Super Moderator
Staff member
There are two osprey nests that I know of in Lynnwood, WA. The nests are only about a half mile from each other as the osprey flies. I have been photographing the osprey at these nests for the past three years and will be visiting them throughout the summer. These photos are all from Monday (6/17).

One nest is in a cell phone tower in the Dunn Lumber yard near the corner of Hwy. 99 (Pacific Hwy.) and 168th St. SW. The best place to view the nest is from 48th Ave. W or the Walgreen's parking lot, depending on the light.

The male brings home a fish.
01.JPG

02.JPG

03.JPG

Dad assumes guard duty after dropping of the fish.
04.JPG

The female remained low to the nest, so I assume she is either sitting on eggs or a very young chick.
05.JPG

Last edited:
The second nest is located atop the center field light stand of the southwest softball field at the Meadowdale softball complex. The original nest was built in the light cluster itself, but that was torn out two or three years ago by Parks & Rec. and replaced with a much safer nesting platform. The osprey pair didn't miss a beat and continued to nest there upon their return from Central America.

When I first arrived the male was in the nest along with the female.
06.JPG

07.JPG

After I set up under the nest, the male flew from the nest with a fish and landed on the nearby family tree. He faced west towards Puget Sound, went into the defensive position, and began shrieking.
08.JPG

09.JPG